No room in Test squad for Marsh brothers

There will be no current West Australians in the Test side when Australia takes on Sri Lanka in the first match in Brisbane.

Shaun and Mitch Marsh were both dropped along with Peter Handscomb and Aaron Finch. 

Chairman of the National Selection Panel Trevor Hohns said the challenge was for them to now go back to Big Bash and Sheffield Shield and make runs. 

“Ultimately Aaron, Peter, Shaun and Mitch have not produced the performances expected of them with the bat at the Test level. They have been given good opportunity, but have not produced the scores we need.” Hohns said. 
“All four are very good players, and the door is by no means closed for them to return to play Test cricket for Australia."

Queenslanders Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw were reinstated while 20-year-old Victorian Will Pucovski could make his Test debut on January 24 after being named. 

Marcus Harris is expected to open alongside one of the two and Usman Khawaja is expected to slip back to the number three position after opening with Harris during the recent SCG Test. 

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Josh Hazlewood, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Will Pucovski, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle.


More from Local Sports

Fuel Watch
  • 139.9: Vibe Mandurah
  • 141.7: Puma Mandurah
  • 141.7: Puma Meadow Springs
  • 142.7: Caltex Woolworths Miami
  • 142.7: 7-Eleven Greenfields