Smith claims cricket's highest honour

Australian cricket skipper Steve Smith has won his second Allan Border medal.

Smith (246 votes) finished in front of his vice-captain David Warner (162 votes) and spinner Nathan Lyon (156 votes). 

Smith also claimed the Test match player of the year, Warner was named the ODI player of the year and Victorian Aaron Finch the T20 player of the year. 

Elyse Perry won the Belinda Clark medal for Australia's best female cricketer in the past 12-months. 

Smith said hopefully his game can continue to improve. 

“I’ve worked really hard on my game over the last few years. For me, through the summer I probably wasn’t hitting the ball as well as I have but my mind was in a fantastic place,” Smith said.

“That’s the most pleasing thing for me, I have done it, sustained the pressure or certain situations. The most pleasing thing for me is my mind has gone to another level. Hopefully it can continue, and I can keep getting better as well."


More from Local Sports

Weather in Mandurah, WA 6210
Saturday Sunny High 32°C Low 26°C
Sunday Sunny High 28°C Low 25°C
Fuel Watch
  • 118.7: 7-Eleven Greenfields
  • 119.3: Vibe Mandurah
  • 119.3: Caltex The Foodary Lakelands
  • 119.5: Caltex StarMart Greenfields
  • 119.9: 7-Eleven Mandurah