City of Rockingham volunteers recognised for outstanding contributions

Garry Williams, Mayor Deb Hamblin Carolyn Wilson, Digby Wilson and Jane McCrea from Secret Harbour Surf Lifesaving Club. PICS: City of Rockingham

Volunteers from local advisory groups and emergency services in the City of Rockingham have been recognised for their outstanding contribution.

More than 130 volunteers and guests were acknowledged at the event last week, which was highlighted by the presentation of four Western Australian Volunteer Service Awards. 

The WA Volunteer Service Awards recognise volunteers who have provided 25 years or more service to a single organisation. 

The four awardees recognised are all proud and loyal members of the Rockingham- Kwinana State Emergency Service (SES) and included: 

-    Andrew Jenner (Joined 1981). 

-    David Catchlove (Joined 1992).

-    Jason Hill (Joined 1992).

-    Peter Noble (Joined 1994). 

(L-R) Deputy Mayor Hayley Edwards, Mayor Deb Hamblin, Andrew Jenner, David Catchlove and Peter Noble from Rockingham-Kwinana SES, Cr Lorna Buchan and Cr Caroline Hume. 

Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service was also recognised for 55 years of service to the local community, while Secret Harbour Surf Lifesaving Club’s 40 year association with Surf Lifesaving WA was also celebrated.

City of Rockingham Mayor Deb Hamblin said volunteers were the heart of the community. 

“The City’s Volunteer Celebration provides an opportunity to acknowledge the effort and passion that volunteers from our advisory groups and emergency services dedicate to their respective causes,” Mayor Hamblin said. 

“Their work is integral to making our City a better place to live and we are fortunate to have so many volunteers who are a shining example of what it means to give back to the community. 

“The City thanks all of them for their tremendous contribution.”  

A total of 13 advisory groups and nine emergency services groups were formally acknowledged at the event and they include:

Advisory Committees and Working Groups

Emergency Services Groups

Seniors Advisory Committee

Department of Fire and Emergency Services

Bushfire Advisory Committee

Baldivis Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services

Community Safety and Support Services Advisory Committee

Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service

Environmental Advisory Committee

Marine Rescue Rockingham

Global Friendship Committee

Secret Harbour Surf Lifesaving Club

Heritage Reference Group

Secret Harbour Volunteer Fire and Rescue


St John Ambulance WA (Rockingham Unit)

Local Emergency Management Committee

Rockingham-Kwinana SES

Roadwise Advisory Committee

Representatives from HMAS Stirling

Rockingham Education and Training Advisory Committee


Sports Advisory Committee


Aboriginal Advisory Group


Cultural Development and the Arts Advisory Committee


Disability Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee


Jim Bratby, Darby Munro, Shanelle Bartholomew, Aaron Boon and Jay Tootill from Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service.  

More from Local News

Fuel Watch
  • 156.9: Ampol Foodary Erskine
  • 157.5: X Convenience Erskine
  • 185.9: Coles Express Mandurah
  • 185.9: Coles Express Halls Head
  • 187.7: Vibe Mandurah