LyriK Awards recognise youth in Kwinana

Mayor Carol Adams and Young Person of the Year Martha Reeves. PIC: City of Kwinana

Young people in the City of Kwinana have been recognised for their contributions at the Leadership, Youth and Respect in Kwinana (LyriK) Awards.

The 2022 LyriK Awards named Martha Reeves as Young Person of the Year in recognition of her diverse commitment to the Kwinana community and her capacity to be a beacon of inclusiveness for young people.

Miss Reeves is involved in the Outdoor Adventure Group, The Zone’s “Unique As” program, and the Kwinana Youth Advisory Council.

She worked with minimal support to apply for a grant to host a Neighbour Day event on Calista Oval in March this year.

She was nominated for and won the Teamwork Award before being named Young Person of the Year and was one of 15 awards presented on the night across six categories and two age groups.

Mayor Carol Adams said each category winner received a $250 cash prize to be spent on an opportunity they may not otherwise have, or put it towards a dream they’ve always had.

In addition, a $50 donation will be made to a charity of their choosing.

“Nominations are assessed by a panel and all nominees are also eligible for the Progress Award and the Young Person of the Year Award. The winner of the Progress Award receives a further $250 cash prize and the Young Person of the Year receives a $500 cash prize, plus a $50 donation is made to a charity of their choice,” Mayor Adams said.

“The LyriK Awards are part of the overall LyriK Program that began in 2006 and is run by the City of Kwinana and supported by Alcoa and Coogee.

“Congratulations to all winners this year, and thank you for your meaningful contributions to the Kwinana area,” she said.

LyriK Award winners 2022:

Achievement Award (10 - 14 years) Kye Ryan

Achievement Award (15 - 18 years) Sophie Lance

Inspiration Award (10 - 14 years) Mervyn Sullivan

Inspiration Award (15 - 18 years) Teileigha Bennett

Leadership Award (10 - 14 years) Jaxon Chigdey

Leadership Award (15 - 18 years) Kwinana Youth Advisory Council

Respect Award (10 - 14 years) Justin Kickett

Respect Award (15 - 18 years) Tyson Kelly

Teamwork Award (10 - 14 years) Telisha Ryan

Teamwork Award (15 - 18 years) Martha Reeves

Wellbeing Award #1 Rachel Russell

Wellbeing Award #2 Emelia Reddick and Mariah Gibbons

Progress Award Bianca McMahon

Young Person of the Year Martha Reeves

More from Local News

Fuel Watch
  • 151.5: X Convenience Erskine
  • 151.9: Ampol Foodary Erskine
  • 155.5: Vibe Mandurah
  • 159.7: Puma Mandurah
  • 159.9: Caltex Woolworths Falcon